Ultralocal

    As the final part of the Think global, act local exhibition cycle, which was devised by COAL for CEAAC, Ultralocal revisits and reverses the notion of utopia through a set of experiments undertaken by the exhibition artists in hyperlocal and specific contexts.

    From the point of view of ecology and sustainable development, the type of organization, material and creation that proves most effective differs according to the particular environmental, cultural and technological context. The idea must continuously be readapted in a form of hybridity and recreation that is varied and adapted to each location. The global idea is thus applied locally, making it glocal.

    In Ultralocal, artists revisit the very notion of utopia. This cannot, in our era, be situated elsewhere. It is not reproducible through copying and pasting. It must be invented here and now. For today and for the future. In short, the artists whose proposals are intended to implement sustainable development are situationist hardliners in opposition to utopia, which, etymologically, is defined as an absolute ideal, devoid of location. Here, on the contrary, it is the location and the immediate context that become the very materials of creation which tends, through its singularity, to achieve universality.

    A generous exhibition, on the boundaries of disciplines and codes and symbols of contemporary artistic production, Ultralocal infiltrates the flaws in our societies in order to pirate reality with poetry and humour.

Ultralocal

    Dernier volet du cycle d’expositions Think global, act local imaginé par COAL pour le CEAAC, Ultralocal revisite et renverse la notion d’utopie par un ensemble d’expériences qu’ont menées les artistes de l’exposition dans des contextes ultralocaux et spécifiques.

    Du point de vue de l’écologie et du développement durable, l’organisation, les matériaux et les créations qui seront les plus performants diffèrent dans chaque contexte environnemental, culturel et technique. L’idée doit, à chaque fois, être réadaptée dans une forme de créolité et de recréation qui la fait varier et s’adapter à chaque lieu d’implantation. L’idée globale se décline ainsi en application locale, elle se fait glocale.
    Au sein de Ultralocal, les artistes revisitent la notion même d’utopie. Celle-ci ne peut plus, à notre époque, être un ailleurs. Elle n’est plus reproductible par copier-coller. Elle doit être inventée ici et maintenant. Pour aujourd’hui comme pour demain. En somme, les artistes dont les propositions visent à mettre en œuvre un développement durable sont des situationnistes jusqu’au-boutistes à l’opposé de l’utopie, qui, étymologiquement, se définit comme un idéal absolu, dénué de lieu. Ici, c’est au contraire la localisation et le contexte immédiat, qui deviennent les matériaux mêmes de la création qui tend, par sa singularité, à atteindre l’universalité.
    Exposition généreuse, aux frontières des disciplines et des codes, des symboles de la création artistique contemporaine, Ultralocal s’introduit dans les failles de nos sociétés pour pirater, avec poésie et humour, la réalité.

    Artistes: Bertille Bak, Adrian Balseca, Pauline Bastard, Thierry Boutonnier, Minerva Cuevas, Collective Disaster, Nicolas Floc’h, LIVIN Studio, Stefan Shankland, Simon Starling, Laurent Tixador