Ana Jotta

    Born in 1946 in Lisbon (Portugal) where she lives and works.

     

    For nearly forty years Ana Jotta has explored every artistic fields: painting, sculpture, installation, sound, photography, as well as techniques that are associated with the so-called minor arts (sewing, embroidery, pottery). Her artistic work is extremely varied and free of any neatly identifiable style, rejecting the concept of signature or authorship. Ana Jotta is a genuine artist-collector who constantly appropriates the objects, iconography, phrases and titles of others. Ana Jotta once wrote: “An amateur should say: I have no literary interest, but I am made of literature, I am nothing else and can be nothing else”.

    For each of her exhibitions, Ana Jotta invents new and unexpected forms of presentation, leading the visitor to admit that there may be no difference between the work and the way in which it is presented. Her work is constructed as a series of dynamic ruptures that embody a kind of erasure of its own traces, of modernist ideology and postmodern mythology but also of the notion of authorship. She tries to dismantle the idea of a coherent and unambiguous style (either by breaking this notion or by reconstructing it).

    The two artworks in the exhibition, two painted projection screens, play on the ambiguity between still images and moving images, while the titles One Springtime and The Joy of the Sad open up fictional possibilities.

Ana Jotta

    Depuis près de quarante ans, Ana Jotta explore tous les champs artistiques : peinture, sculpture, installation, son, photographie, mais aussi des techniques que l’on associe aux arts dits mineurs (couture, broderie, poterie). Son travail artistique, extrêmement varié, s’affranchit de tout style proprement identifiable, récusant la notion même de signature ou d’auteur. Ana Jotta est une véritable artiste-collectionneuse qui s’approprie en permanence les objets, l’iconographie, les phrases et les titres des autres. Ana Jotta a écrit : « Un amateur devrait dire : la littérature en soi ne m’intéresse pas mais je suis fait de littérature, je ne suis et ne peux être rien d’autre que littérature ».

    Pour chacune de ses expositions, Ana Jotta invente des formes de présentation nouvelles et inattendues, amenant le visiteur à reconnaître qu’il n’y aurait peut-être pas de distinction entre son travail et la façon dont il est présenté. Son œuvre se construit comme une suite de ruptures dynamiques qui incarnent une sorte d’effacement : de ses propres traces, de l’idéologie moderniste et des mythologies postmodernes, mais aussi de la notion d’auteur. Elle essaye, soit en décomposant cette notion, soit en la reconstruisant, de démanteler l’idée d’un style cohérent et univoque.

    Les deux œuvres présentées dans l’exposition, deux écrans de projection peints, jouent d’une ambigüité entre images fixes et images en mouvement dont les titres Un printemps et Le Bonheur des tristes ouvrent des pistes fictionnelles.